The F.M.Dostoevsky Literary-Memorial Museum opened on November 12, 1971, in the house at 5/2 Kuznechny Lane. Dostoevsky had rented an apartment in this building twice, once for a very short time in 1846, and then from October 1878 until his death, on January 28, 1881. Here he had worked on his early story The Double, and here he wrote his last novel, The Brothers Karamazov. The Dostoevskys' apartment was recreated from the memoirs of his wife Anna and of his contemporaries. It was in this house that many of Dostoevsky's contemporaries were to visit him.
The exhibition of the museum restores the interior of the world famous writer's latest apartment. The exhibits are the private belongings of Dostoevsky and his books. After the visit to the museum it is reasonable to have the excursion "Petersburg of Dostoevsky" and visit the addresses of the heroes of Dostoevsky's novels "Idiot" and "Crime and Punishment".
During Dostoevsky's life the rooms, where Literary exposition is situated, were occupied by common apartments. The first room of the exposition is dedicated to Dostoevsky's life, the second - to the writer's five main novels.
The exposition is divided into two parts. The first one has the materials featuring Dostoevsky's biography and creative work from 1821 to 1864. The exposition is organized upon the principle of "corners": every new period of Dostoevsky's life represents a new "corner" of the exposition. The second part presents the materials related to the next period of the writer's life and creative work - from 1865 to 1881.
Faithfully reconstructed, the apartment is full of photos, drawings and documents telling about Dostoyevsky's life, his impact on the world's culture.
Open: 11.00a.m. - 6.00p.m.,Last admission-one hour earlier